Tech-ED

Enhancing Education with a Touch of Technology

Day 2: Zombies, RUN!

So after the shortcomings of Day 1 with Zombies, Run!, I set up my online profile, and made sure that the GPS signal was good. I stretch, and as I start the morning of to recoup from the days previous run, it begins to mist, and the cool air sinks in as if the weather knew I was about to immerse myself into another round of the epic story. This time when I start-up the App I continue from the day before.

I am in a hospital, and I just had gathered some incredibly important documents, or so I think…Shortly after, I hear groaning and my “eyes in the sky” come in over the radio and let me know that there are zombies after me. I immediately begin to pick up my pace to out run the quick and agile zombies catching up to me. My radar is beeping lie crazy signaling me that they are getting closer and closer, and as they are 1 meter out I hear groaning, knives, and other zombie noises I don’t dare explain! At this point in real life I have left my running partner in the dust picking up my pace and never looking back.  If you know me, well I don’t like to lose at video games, or physical competitions so this app really began to push me. Earlier I turned on the split marker and I all of a sudden hear 1 mile, time 6:35. I looked to my marker and yes a 6:35 mile. How, wait, what, thanks Zombies, Run! So, after that shock wore off I hear more zombies and I am back in the game!

I keep running and they aren’t gaining as quickly now, and I would hope not for fear of not finishing the run. Soon the mission is complete and I can put Chapter 1 of the story down. I keep running at the same pace and I hear great job mission complete. Well, it would have been nice to immediately start Mission 2; however, the app took me into their version of the towns radio. It was actually like listening to a radio station in the village, what a novel idea! Personally, I don’t like to continually hear music because songs tend to blend together and this weird thing happens where songs blend together and time slows down. It was great after ever song or two I would be updated with life and meet new characters in the story.  I also was running around the camp to look for items and I picked up quite a few things that might be helpful later on in my journey.

Over all the app went from questionable to amazing in day 2. I would now begin to recommend the app to people, but make sure to do everything on the website first! I ended up running the loop in one of my fastest times and it was due to the timing of the zombies which seemed to coincide with the harder spots in my run. What a turn around! Now for dreaded day 3…..

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment